Flights

Flights are being scheduled, or our seats have been put ‘on hold’ as Kim told us. This is getting all the more real and I’m getting more and more excited.

I hate flying, that’s the down side to my love of traveling, of my desire to go any and everywhere. I hate heights and I am kind of claustrophobic, neither of which help with flying. This time though I’ll be able to sit next to Harrison and grip his hand as we take off and as we land. That in itself will help me so much. I didn’t have that last year on the way to England and I nearly had a panic attack.

Our flight doesn’t take off until almost three, then it’s a two hour flight to Newark, then a seven hour or so flight to Shannon, Ireland (although to us it’ll seem like more since we’ll be landing at 7.30 am their time). The time difference might kill me a little but it’ll still be fine as long as I can stay awake the first day. I doubt I’ll have any problem with that because I’ll be so excited to be there. And I might actually get sleep on the flight with Harrison there, he’ll maybe be able to calm me down. The rest of the groups energy might keep me awake though, I don’t know. We’ll see when we leave. We still have 5 months and 9 days but scheduling the flight makes it seem closer.

We only had to set that all up because we’re flying with 22 people. A big group needs to be scheduled in early or we’d have to pay a ton and couldn’t get seats in the same area (most likely). It’s odd to think that this group is so much smaller than the group that went to England last spring, nearly 10 more people on this one. But it’ll be nice, I already know that I like a lot of the people going so I doubt that I’ll have a problem.

If Dreisbach allows us to choose our roommates for at least half of the trip I think I’ll room with Amanda. We get along well and share some interests, and we’d be able to just talk about our excitements too. I know I’m gonna be taking a shit ton of pictures and writing a lot while I’m there and she’s the kind of person who’ll be able to respect that I need some quiet to do that. And even if Dreisbach doesn’t let us choose roommates I feel like I know a good amount of the people going that I’d be able to get along with almost everyone if not everyone on the trip.

I’ll try and update this too while we’re over there, sending things from my phone whenever I can get a wireless connection. I feel like I’ll be able to find some place to do that at least every couple of days. If not I can save stuff on Evernote and just post them when we get back.

Fall semester has four weeks and a couple days left, then Winter break and the Spring semester begins. Once that happens class meeting for the Ireland Class will begin and I will officially freak out. So excited now, I don’t know what I will be like once it’s actually time to go.

Leave a Reply

